Diwali, also known as the festival of lights is an important festival in the Hindu, Sikh, Jain and Buddhist calendar. It is believed to be the symbol of Goddess Lakshmi, the Goddess of wealth, coming home.

There are five days of Diwali are celebrated as follows:

Day one (Dhanteras): People clean their homes and shop for gold or kitchen utensils to help bring good fortune.

Day two (Choti Diwali): People decorate their homes with clay lamps and create design patterns called rangoli on the floor using coloured powders or sand.

Day three (Lakshmi Puja): On the main day of the festival, families gather together for Lakshmi puja, a prayer to Goddess Lakshmi, followed by mouth-watering feasts and firework festivities.

Day four (Govardhan Puja): This is the first day of the new year, when friends and relatives visit with gifts and best wishes for the season.

Day five (Bhai Dooj): Brothers visit their married sisters (or other family members in general, in modern days) who welcome them with love and a lavish meal.

Learn more about Diwali here.

Wishing you all a Happy Diwali and prosperous new year!

Updated on 05 November 2023