Legal & Governance


Thamesbank’s governance and direction is made by its voluntary board members. The board meets on a regular basis and discusses a range of regulatory issues. Read about the board on the People page.

The Board of Thamesbank comprises:

  • Mukesh Malhotra (Chair)
  • Paul Oppe (Vice-Chair)
  • Nic Dowler (Treasurer and MLRO)
  • Edward de Waal (Director)
  • Jan Doskar (Director)
  • Roxanne Glaud (Director)
  • Christo Gouws (Director)

The Board is elected at an Annual General Meeting and meets monthly. Board members serve for three-year terms and their roles and responsibilities are defined in the rulebook and periodically updated. The prime responsibilities of the Board are to develop a Business and Marketing Plan and Budget and to monitor the progress of the credit union against those plans. The Board also organises the Annual General Meeting to which every member is invited. The AGM considers the report of the Directors and any motions relating to dividends as well as examining the report of the external auditor.

To view Thamesbank’s full financial statements, click here.


Thamesbank Credit Union is incorporated under the Credit Union Act 1979. Registered Number 722C.

The rules, approved by the regulators, are a model developed by our trade association ABCUL and provide the framework for our operation.

Thamesbank Credit Union is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority. Registration Number 416486